What is your philosophy?

Do you have a philosophy on wellness?  You probably do, without even realizing it.  We all have philosophies.  Philosophies are nothing more than our opinion dressed up with an opening and closing statement.  It can and should be a way to present to others and even yourself, what you believe.  Have you thought about it?

My philosophy on health is this…I know that if I don’t work at it, it will fail.  My body will fail, my mind will fail, and my spirit will fail.  My philosophy is regular exercise in all three aspects, Body, Mind, and Spirit.

In the New Testament, the book of Mark 14:38 says… “Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the body is weak.”

I know that I need to eat right and exercise but I don’t always do it.  Do you?

It certainly is tempting to sit on the couch and eat Bon Bon’s, or to sleep in and not get up to exercise or to read my bible. Yes, the body is weak.

After thinking about what health and wellness means to you, take some time to write down your philosophy.

 

Here are some questions that might get you started thinking:

  1. Where do you see yourself on the wellness continuum in the next 5 years, the next 10 years?
  2. If you continue to live your current lifestyle for the next two to three decades, how do you see yourself at that point in the future?

Your health philosophy guides your state of health.  What is your health philosophy?  Take some time today to think about it…write it down…start living by it. It makes things/life so much simpler.  We tend to act on what we believe to be true.

Look for support if you’re starting to make changes in your life style.  Tell others, “Hey I’m going to start exercising, will you help me by holding me accountable?”

 

Dying is the only sure thing about living.

We lost a true visionary yesterday when Steve Jobs passed.  I wonder what his philosophy on wellness was.  He sure put up a good fight for so many years with his cancer diagnosis.  He had passion.  What are you passionate about?

Steve Jobs did say this about his life and what matters to him…

“Being the richest man in the cemetery doesn’t matter to me … going to bed at night saying we’ve done something wonderful… that’s what matters to me.”

I encourage you to start today being that person you want to be.  Don’t let excuses or worldly things hold you back.

What matters to you?  What is your philosophy?

 

Wellness Matters for life

Life Coach Doug

“Like” me on Facebook.  wwwfacebook.com/lifecoachdoug

Leave a Reply

