Omega 3’s are you in or out?

I will continue posting on Mondays and Thursdays for a while longer, due to my busy schedule.  It is helping me and I hope that it works for you.  I also hope the information I share in these blogs will enable you to go out and apply it to your own life style.  Be sure to keep telling me what’s working for you and what’s not.

 My wife and I prepared salmon on the grill last night.  We microwaved some of those little red potatoes and also grilled zucchini and squash.

 I like the taste of Salmon (did you know, it’s low in mercury).  We put some dill sauce and a little lemon, yum…

Salmon is the fish they tell us to eat if we want a diet rich in omega 3 fatty acids.

 Omega-3 fatty acids, found almost exclusively in fish, have been promoted for years as a way to improve heart health, but I read where recent studies are casting doubt on that idea. Some have shown no benefit to consuming more of the nutrient.

Oh no …not another study, I said…

The latest such finding came in early September. A study of more than 3,000 people published online in the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition showed no heart benefits of a high consumption of an omega-3 called alpha-linolenic acid (ALA).

The results were not final, so earlier this week the American Heart Association, as well as some other organizations, still recommends getting your share of omega-3s by eating fish at least twice a week.

~

 Do you get tired of reading studies proving this or dis-proving that?  Later on the article did say that maybe this is because some Nordic countries already eat a lot of fish and so having a higher intake may not be beneficial; there is a “certain threshold beyond which you may not get more benefit.”

There is also a short chain type, which comes from plants so that could have been skewing the results as well.  They also didn’t keep real close track of who was already on medication for high blood pressure and high cholesterol. So their benefit would be less, too. 

I did read in my studies of omega 3’s that pregnant women should be cautious in their choices of dietary omega 3’s from fish sources, as some may contain contaminants that could harm the fetus.  So beware if you’re a mom to be.

All in all, I will encourage you to continue eating fish at least twice a week.  The habit we are in around the Durham household is fish on Wednesdays and Sundays. 

If you have any good salmon recipes I would like for you to send them to me at doug@lifecoachdoug.com

Update: The Centers for Disease Control says nearly two-dozen people have died after eating tainted cantaloupes. Over 100 people in 23 states have reported matching symptoms. The outbreak is believed to have started at a Jensen Farms plant in eastern Colorado, USA. So remember to keep washing your fruits and vegetables.

Take care and God bless,

 Wellness Matters for Life

Life Coach Doug


Leave a comment